Faculty in English

The English program currently supports inventive, ambitious work in all periods and genres, from medieval and early modern to twentieth century and contemporary, from epic and romance to postcolonial fiction, graphic narrative, and new media. The Department also supports a wide range of comparative and interdisciplinary work in Anglophone literatures, in political history and theory, in race and gender studies, in visual cultures, in the history of religions, in ethics, and in anthropology. 

To learn more about the Department's programs and people, please visit their website


Timothy Campbell

Assistant Professor, English
Historical self-consciousness in 18th-century British fiction, the historical novel as a genre, consumerism and visual culture, particularly fashion.
campbellt@uchicago.edu
 

James Chandler
Barbara E. and Richard J. Franke Professor of English.
The Romantic movement in England; 18th- and 19th-century poetry; the historical novel; politics and literature in Britain and Ireland, 1700-1900; Scottish Enlightenment; the history of the sentimental.
docj@uchicago.edu


Maud Ellmann

Randy L. and Melvin R. Berlin Professor of the Developement of the Novel in English
British and European modernism and critical theory, pyschoanalysis and feminism.
ellmann@uchicago.edu


Frances Ferguson
Ann L. and lawrence B. Buttenwieser Professor
Eighteenth and nineteenth century Romanticism, the relationaship between poetry and the novel,, history of reading and practical criticism, dissent in educated and educational thought in the eighteenth & nineteenth centuries.
ferguso1@uchicago.edu


Elaine Hadley 
Associate Professor, English and Gender Studies.
19th British literature and culture; British novel, British non-fiction prose of 19th century, 19th century theater, popular culture, British political culture, liberalism
ehadley@uchicago.edu

 

Heather Keenleyside
Assistant Professor, English
Restoration and 18th-century literature, history and theory of the novel, 17th- and 18th-century British philosophy, literary representation and animal studies, early children's literature and issues of literary form and genre.
heatherk@uchicago.edu


Loren Kruger 
Professor, English, Comparative Literature, Germanic Studies, African Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Theatre and Performance Studies
South African literature and visual culture; Marxist theory and modern culture; cinema in Africa; drama, theatre, image, performance; history and theory of drama; Brecht and beyond; realism, socialism and modernism; catharsis and other aesthetic responses; performance and representation in theatre and theory; translation theory and practice; drama in Africa and the African diaspora; and urban theory and performance.
lkruger@uchicago.edu

 

Mark Miller 
Associate Professor, English
Late-medieval literature and culture; the intersections of psychoanalysis, feminism, and queer theory with ethics, theory of action, and philosophical psychology.
jmmiller@uchicago.edu


W.J.T. Mitchell

Gaylord Donnelley Distinguished Service Professor, English
History and theories of media, visual art and literature, 18th-century to present.
wjtm@uchicago.edu
 

Benjamin Morgan
Assistant Professor, English
Intersection of literature, science and aesthetics in the Victorian period and early 20th-century.
bjmorgan@uchicago.edu
 

Michael Murrin 
Raymond W. & Martha Hilpert Gruner Distinguished Service Professor; Professor, English, Comparative Literature, Divinity School
Medieval and Renaissance epic; medieval and Renaissance romance; allegory and the history of criticism.
m-murrin@uchicago.edu

John Muse

Assistant Professor, English; Committee on Theater and Performance Studies
Modern and contemporary theater, modernist literature and performance, media boundaries, closet dramas, metatheather and metafiction, digital or virtual theater.
jmuse@uchicago.edu
 

Lisa Ruddick 
Associate Professor, English.
Modern British fiction; literature and psychoanalysis; poetry and poetics
lruddick@uchicago.edu

Josh Scodel
Professor, English and Comparative Literature.
Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century English literature in relation to classical literary tradition and to ancient and contemporaneous ethical and political thought; genre theory and practice; history of criticism.
jscodel@uchicago.edu

David Simon

Assistant Professor, English
Literary and intellectual history of 16th- and 17th-century England, issues of early modernity.
davidsimon@uchicago.edu

 

Eric Slauter
Associate Professor, Department of English.
Eighteenth-century Atlantic; literature, law, and culture; American Revolution.
eslauter@uchicago.edu

 

Richard Strier 
Professor, English and Committee on Visual Arts; Frank L. Sulzberger Professor of Civilizations in the College.
Shakespeare, religious poetry, Milton, the Reformations (Protestant and Catholic), Renaissance political thought, the English Revolution.
rastrier@uchicago.edu
 

Sonali Thakkar
Global anglophone and postcolonial literatures, contemporary transnational culture, issues of memory and memorialization.

Christopher Taylor

Assistant Professor, English
Hemispheric Americas in the 19th-century, British Empire, economic history, political theory and literary studies.
chtaylor@uchicago.edu


Christina von Nolcken
 
Associate Professor, English
Old and Middle English language and literature; history of the English language; Anglo-Scandinavian relations towards the end of the Anglo-Saxon period; late 14th- and 15th-century devotional texts
mcv4@uchicago.edu

John Wilkinson

Professor, English
Creative writitng, properties of lyric poetry, object relations theory.
jwilkinson@uchicago.edu